My 10th Level Players Fought a Tarrasque...

oldmanofdoom
edited December 2010 in Campaign Portal Building
Well, It's my first time as a DM and I am running a campaign in Eberron. My players went to Xen'drik and I told them they saw a Tarrasque. I wasn't intending for them to fight it, as I though they would be smart enough to realize that they couldn't possibly win. However, I was wrong. Even though the Tarrasque was there only as part of narrative and a side story, they ran towards it and attacked it. They managed to get away but one of them died. The others revived him a few hours later but he lost all his magic items and other possessions and they're all a bit depressed. Do you think it was my fault? I mean, if you were level 10 and knew that a Tarrasque is 30th, would you go and attack it? And what do you think I should do with that player's character now that he lost all his items? Please, I really don't know what to do.

Comments

• gaaran
    gaaran
    Well, it depends, have you set a precedent before in your games for using things that were beyond your players' ken, and offering them assistance to make it possible, or are you more the DM that runs a world where "the players are powerful, but there is always something MORE powerful." If the former, then you may have caught them by surprise, and perhaps a ritual to summon their equipment back to them could be garnered, and if the latter, then the players were foolish enough to challenge godzilla head-on. They should be glad they're all still alive (thanks to the raise dead). Basically, it all depends on what sort of game you've run up until this point.
  • Duskreign
    Duskreign
    Funniest... thread-name... ever.

First time DM's and the Tarrasque... I tell you...

Wow.

If I was you, oldmanofdoom, I would hold firm to the status quo, and allow them to chalk it up to a lesson well learned. If they aren't more careful, worse things can happen than the loss of a few items.
    Post edited by Duskreign on